Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
today ipl match

Sun Risers Hyderabad: Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

Sun Risers

The sun risers Hyderabad is a cricket team franchise in IPL. Kalanithi Maran ( sun TV network) owned the franchise. It founded as a result of Deccan Chargers termination in 2012. Kane Williamson is the captain, and Tom Moody coached of the team. In 2018, the brand value of the franchise an estimated $70 Million. They appeared in IPL in 2013 and won their first IPL title in 2016.

Leading Run-Scorer:  David Warner

Leading Wicket-taker: Bhuvneshwar Kumar


The team debuted in 2013. Sun TV Network owned the franchise for $12 Million per year. The headquarter of the Sun TV Network is in Chennai. Sun TV is the largest media and entertainment company of India with 32 TV Channels and 45 FM radio stations.

Home ground

Rajiv Gandhi Internation Cricket Stadium is the home ground of Sunrisers Hyderabad. The stadium locates in Hyderabad, Telangana, India. It has the seating capacity of 60,000.

Administration and Coaching Staff

OwnerSun TV Network
Head CoachTom Moody
Assistant CoachSimon Helmot
Bowling CoachMuttiah Muralitharan
MentorV. V. S. Laxman
PhysiotherapistTheo Kapakoulakis

Performance History

In IPL 2013 season the sun risers made their debut in the league. The team reached the playoffs in its inaugural season. They lost against the Rajasthan Royals by four wickets and eliminated. In 2014, they only retained two players, Dale Steyn and Shikhar Dhawan. The team lost eight matches and finished in sixth place. The Sun Risers failed to secure a spot in the playoffs.

The Sun Risers appointed David Warner captain for season 2015. The team won seven matches and lost seven. They failed to reach the playoffs ending at sixth place on the table. The SRS captain David Warner won the Orange Cap.

In 2016, Sunrisers Hyderabad defeated Royals Challengers Bangalore in final and crowned as champions. Bhuvneshwar Kumar won Purple Cap for Sun Risers Hyderabad.

SRH retain 17 players from the title-winning squad for season 2017. They ended at 3rd position in the points table. In eliminator, they lost to Kolkata Knight Riders and finished their campaign.

For season 2018, Sun Risers Hyderabad released all players except two from the squad.

Awards and Achievements



Most economical Bowler (Bhuvneshwar Kumar)

Most Bowling Dots (Dale Steyn)


Highest team total (205)

Best Bowling Figure (Bhuvneshwar Kumar)

Best Catches (Dale Steyn)


Orange Cap (David Warner)

Best Catches (David Warner)

Most Fours (David Warner)

Best bowling (Moises Henriques)


Champions of IPL 2016

Player of final (Ben Cutting)

Purple Cap (Bhuvneshwar Kumar)

Fair Play Award Winner

Longest six (Ben Cutting)

Most Fours (David Warner)

Most Bowling Dots (Bhuvneshwar Kumar)



Orange Cap (David Warner)

Purple Cap (Bhuvneshwar Kumar)

Highest Individual Score (David Warner)

Most Fours (David Warner)



Orange Cap (Kane Williamson)

Most Bowling Dots (Rashid Khan)

Related posts

KXIP: Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

By IPL Staff

RCB Team: Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

By IPL Staff

Delhi Daredevils: Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

By IPL Staff

Leave a Comment