Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
today ipl match

Rajasthan Royals: Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

The Rajasthan Royals are a franchise cricket team of Indian Premier League.  It represents the city of Jaipur in the league, and Manoj Badle owned the team. Sawai Mansingh Stadium is the home ground of the team. Sardar Patel Stadium and Barbourne Stadium are the second home grounds. Rajasthan Royals is the money ball team of the league The Royals won the inaugural season of IPL. The team was runner-up of championship league 2013. Ajinkya Rahane with 2705 runs is the leading run scorer of the team and also the captain. Shane Watson is leading wicket-taker.

Exclusion from the League

Rajasthan Royals is known for high potential talent. It is also involved the number of scandals and controversies. Supreme Court of India suspended Rajasthan Royals for two years for corruption and match-fixing scandal. They returned in the IPL season 2018.


Currently, Manoj Badale owns and chairs the franchise. Lachlan Murdoch, Aditya cellarman and Suresh Chellaram are the other investors of the franchise. The BCCI sold the franchise to the group for $67 million. In 2009 the franchise made $7.5 million, a pretax profit.

Home Grounds

Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur is the home ground of the team. Sardar Patel Stadium, Ahmedabad and Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai are the second home grounds.

Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur (Capacity: 23,185)

Sardar Patel Stadium, Ahmedabad (Capacity: 54,000)

Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai (Capacity: 25,000)

Management and Support Staff

OwnerManoj Badale
Head coachPaddy Upton
Batting CoachAmol Muzumdar
Spin Bowling CoachSairaj Bahutule
Fielding CoachDishant Yagnik
Team MentorShane Warne
Fast Bowling CoachSteffan Jones
PhysioJohn Gloster

Performance History


In the inaugural season, many considered team as the weakest team of IPL. The team believed in writing its fate. Perhaps, they approached the game with their style of cricket and real attitude. The Royals’ captain never had a fear of lose. He deals calmly with a pressure situation.

In conclusion of Robin Stage, Warne’s boys remained at the top of the points table. The team made it to the semifinal. Sohail Tanvir took most wickets in the tournament. He won the Purple Cap first time in IPL history. In semifinal they assured their place in final beating Delhi Daredevils. They defeated Chennai Super Kings in final and crowned as the Champions of IPL 1st edition.


BCCI banned Pakistani Player in IPL. So, Sohail Tanvir was eligible to play in the team. Shane was unavailable for the season because of Australia tour to Pakistan. The team dropped Mohammad Kaif, Paras Dogra, Srideep Mangela, Azhar Malik, Dinesh Salunkhe, Anup Revandkar and Ashraf Makda. They sent them to home. Rajasthan Royals played 14 matches and won only 6. They finished 6th among eight teams. This end disappointed the hearts they won with 2008 performance.


In season 2010 the Royals suffered an unfortunate in the tournament. The team lost the championship to Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore. They lost against Kolkata Knight Riders in last robin game. Rajasthan Royals didn’t make it to playoffs. They played 14 games, only won six and finished 7th out of 8 teams.


The team retained duo of Shane Watson and Shane Warne for this season. They bought Shaun Tait for $300,000, Johan Botha for $950,000, Ross Taylor for $1 Million, Rahul Dravid for half Million, and Paul Collingwood for mere $250,000. This time royals finished their robin matches winning six matches out of 14 they played.


Rajasthan Royals won seven out of sixteen games and finished seventh in the point table.


The Royals finished third in the group stage and qualified for playoffs. In eliminator, they won against Sun Risers Hyderabad, and in second Qualifier they lost to Mumbai Indians. This led the team to exit from the tournament. Shane Watson adjudged the Man of the Tournament.


The team retained Sanju Samson, Ajinkya Rahane, Shane Watson, James Faulkner and Stuart Binny for IPL 7th edition.  They ended up with the 5th position among 8 in the league stage.


After two years of suspension, they made a comeback in the league. The Royals with 14 points secured fourth place in the following season. In eliminator, KKR crushed the team from playoffs in Eden Garden.

The Royal’s Squad

Rajasthan Royals

BatsmenBowlersAll RounderWicketkeepers
Ajinkya RahaneIsh SodhiMahipal LomrorSanju Samson
Rahul TripathiDhawal KularniKrishnappa GowthamJos Buttler
Steve SmithSudhesan MidhunJofra Archer
Prashant ChopraStuart BinnyShreyas Gopal
Aryaman BirlaBen Stokes


Related posts

Mumbai Indians: Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

By IPL Staff

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

By IPL Staff

KKR, Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

By IPL Staff

1 comment

Leave a Comment