Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
today ipl match

Mumbai Indians: Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians is a Franchise cricket Team based in Mumbai, Maharashtra. Reliance Industries owns the team through its sports entity India Win Sports. Wankhede Stadium is the home ground of the team while Brabourne Stadium is its second home ground. The brand value of the franchise is $106 million and the most valuable IPL team to cross $100.  It is one of the most successful teams of the Indian Premier League. Rohit Sharma captained the team and the franchise appointed Mahela Jayawardene head coach of the team. Rohit Sharma is the leading run scorer while Lasith Malinga is leading wicket-taker of the team.


BCCI sold the team to Reliance Industries for $111.9 Million. Mukesh Ambani is the owner of the company. RIL is one of the most profitable companies and second largest after Indian Oil Corporation. In 2017, it is ranked 203rd on the Fortune Global 500 list of world’s biggest companies.


Performance history

2008 To 2011

Sachin Tendulkar is the icon player of the team. In IPL inaugural season 2008 auction, the franchise bought international names; Sanath Jayasuriya, Harbhajan Singh, Shaun Pollock, Lasith Malinga, and Robin Uthappa. Sachin Tendulkar led the team. Tendulkar got injured so Harbhajan Singh captained the team. The team finished fifth in the points table with seven wins and losses.

In 2009, season the team traded Robbin Uthappa for Zaheer Khan with Royal Challengers and Ashish Nehra for Shikar Dhawan with the Daredevils. Mumbai Indians bought South African Batsman JB Duminy. The team finished in seventh place with only five wins from 14 games.

In 2010 auction, the franchise bought Kieron Pollard for $750,000. Former Indian Cricketer Robin Singh served as head coach of the team. They finished with twenty points from 14 matches and beat Royal Challengers Banglore in Semifinal. In final, the Super Kings defeated Mumbai Indians by 22 runs. Sachin Tendulkar scored most runs in the season and won Orange Cap.

In 2011, the franchise retained Sachin Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh, Pollard, and Malinga. They purchased Rohit Sharma, Andrew Symonds, and Munaf Patel. The team finished with 18 points from 14 games. In the qualifying final, the team lost to Royal Challengers. Lasith Malinga and Munaf Patel was the leading wicket-taker for Mumbai Indians.

2012 to 2017

Before IPL 2012, the franchise traded Dinesh Karthik from Kings XI Punjab and Pragyan Ojha from Deccan Chargers. They bought R P Singh, Thisara Perera, and Mitchell Johnson. The team ended up with 20 points from 16 matches; third position on points table. Mumbai Indians lost to Super Kings in the Eliminator by 38 runs.

In IPL 2013, Rohit Sharma led the team and the team improved a lot under his captaincy and won their first IPL title. In IPL 2014 the team didn’t start off well while in eliminator lost to Chennai Super Kings ending their campaign.

Mumbai Indians defeated Chennai Super Kings and won their second title in 2015. Lendl Simmons was a top run scorer for the team and second in the season behind David Warner. Mitchell McClenaghan provided good support to Malinga upfront. They won nine out of ten matches and won the championship title.

The Indians finished on the top of the point table in IPL 2017. They won 10 out of 14 games. The defeated Rising Pune Supergiant and hailed as the best IPL match. The team won third IPL title and became the most successful team in IPL history.

Administration and support staff

OwnerReliance Industries
Head coachMahela Jayawardene
Batting CoachRobin Singh
Bowling CoachShane Bond
Assistant CoachParas Mhambrey
Fielding CoachJames Parmment
Batting MentorSachin Tendulkar
Bowling MentorLasith Malinga
Team ManagerRahul Sanghvi

Mumbai Indian’s Squad

BatsmenBowlersAll RounderWicketkeepers
Evin LewisMayank MarkandeKrunal PandyaAditya Tare
Siddesh LadMitchell McClenaghanBen CuttingQuinton de Kock
Rohit SharmaJasprit BumrahHardik PandyaIshan Kishan
Suryakumar YadavRahul ChadarKieron Pollard 
 Jason BehrendroffAunkul Roy 
 Adam Milne  


2008: League Stage

2009: League Stage

2010: Runner-Up

2011: Playoffs

2012: Playoffs

2013: Champions

2014: Playoffs

2015: Champions

2016: League Stage

2017: Champions

2018: League Stage

Related posts

Delhi Daredevils: Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

By IPL Staff

RCB Team: Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

By IPL Staff

KKR, Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

By IPL Staff

Leave a Comment