Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
today ipl match

KXIP: Squad & Staff, History and Achievements


The KXIP is a franchise cricket team which competes in Indian Premier League. The team based in Mohali, Punjab and PCA Stadium is the home ground of the franchise.  Bollywood Actress Preity Zinta, Wadia Group, Dabur’s Mohit Burman and Karan Paul jointly own the franchise. They paid total $76 Million to acquire the franchise. On October 2010, the league terminated the franchise agreements. Lately, the league repealed the termination.

Owners in kxip

Dabur Group’s Mohit Burman (46%)

The Wadia Group’s Ness Wadia (23%)

Bollywood Actress Preity Zinta (23%)

Dey Group (minor stake)


IPL 2008

The Kxip team lost their first two matches and won nine of its next ten matches. They managed to qualify in the semifinals, and they lost to Chennai Super Kings by nine wickets.  Shaun Marsh finished the tournament with the most runs. He managed to hit five half-centuries and a century.

IPL 2009

The kxip team started with the ambition to win the trophy. Unfortunately, they lost to Daredevils and Knight Riders. They defeated Royal Challengers, Rajasthan Royals, and Mumbai Indians. Chennai super kings crushed semifinals’ hopes.

IPL 2010

They lost to Knight Riders, Daredevils, Royal Challengers, Deccan Chargers, Rajasthan Royals and Mumbai Indians. The team managed to win against Chennai Super Kings. The Daredevils ended the tournament in the last position.

IPL 2011

The team managed to get one victory and ended up with two points.  They got the fifth position in the points table.

IPL 2012

They won eight matches out of sixteen and ended up with sixth place.

IPL 2013

Unfortunately, they failed to qualify for the playoffs.

IPL 2014

Kings XI Punjab won all of their first five matches.  They qualified to the playoffs. In Semifinal against Chennai Super Kings, Sehwag makes their way to final with 122 runs knock.  In final the team faced Kolkata Knight Riders, but KKR won by three wickets.

IPL 2015

Unlike previous seasons, the team could not continue the Heroics. They won three of only 14 games with 8th position in the league.  David Miller was the top run scorer (357), and Anureet Singh was the top wicket-taker (15).

IPL 2016

Once again, the team ended up with the eighth position. They won only four matches. Murali Vijay was the top run scorer (453), and Sandeep Sharma was the top wicket-taker (15).

IPL 2017

Glenn Maxwell was appointed as captain. Eoin Morgan, Darren Sammy, and Hashim Amla comprise the team.  The team finished the season winning seven out of fourteen games. Hashim Amla was the top run scorer (420), and Sandeep Sharma was top wicket-taker (17).

IPL 2018

The squad included Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuvraj Singh, KL Rahul, and Chris Gayle.  Chris gale made a beautiful century and stole the show. Kings Xi Punjab defeated Hyderabad by 15 runs in the league. They won five out of seven league stage matches.

Administration and Coaching Staff

OwnersPreity Zinta, Ness Wadia, Mohit Burman, Karan Paul
CEOSatish Menon
Head CoachMike Hesson
Bowling CoachSridharan Sriram
Fielding CoachNishanta Bordoloi
ManagerVaroon Parmar
Technical CoachShyamal Vallabhjee
PhysioAmit Tyagi
Team AnalystAashish Tuli


  • Yuvraj Singh (2008-9)
  • Kumar Sangakkara (2010-10)
  • Adam Gilchrist (2011-13)
  • George Bailey (2014-15)
  • Virender Sehwag (2015-15)
  • David Miller (2016-16)
  • Glenn Maxwell (2017-17)
  • Ravichandran Ashwin (2018)

Our Team

BatsmenBowlersAll RounderWicketkeepers
Mandeep SinghAnkit RajpootAxar PatelKL Rahul
David MillerBarinder SranMayank Dagar
Akshdeep NathAndrew TyeManzoor Dar
Mayank AgarwalMujeeb Ur Rahman
Karun Nair
Chris Gayle

Exclusion and Return

The Indian Premier League terminated the franchise contracts. The team took legal actions to remain in the league. The team negotiated a solution with the league which couldn’t reach. The franchise decided to file a case in High Court, Mumbai. Finally, the League reinstituted the franchise.


2008: Semifinalist (3rd/8)

2009: League Stage (5th/8)

2010: League Stage (8th/8)

2011: League Stage (5th/10)

2012: League Stage (6th/9)

2013: League Stage (6th/9)

2014: Runnerup (2nd/8)

2015: League Stage (8th/8)

2016: League Stage (8th/8)

2017: League Stage (5th/8)

2018: League Stage (7th/8)

Related posts

Sun Risers Hyderabad: Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

By IPL Staff

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

By IPL Staff

RCB Team: Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

By IPL Staff

Leave a Comment