Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
today ipl match

KKR, Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements


Kolkata Knight Riders are franchise cricket team competes in Indian Premier League. It represents the city of KKR and the home ground of the team is Eden Garden. Bollywood star Shahrukh Khan owned the team. Dinesh Karthik is the captain of the team while Acques kills is the coach.  Gautam Gambhir is leading run scorer and Sunil Narine is the leading wicket-taker. In 2017, the brand value of the team was $99 million. The KKR won the IPL championship title for two times.


Bollywood star Shahrukh Khan’s company Red Chillies Production and Juhi Chawla and her husband Jay Mehta bought the franchise for $75 Million. In 2015, they bought a stake in Caribbean Premier league and in 2017 also bought Cape town knight Riders in T20 Global League.

Home ground

Eden Garden is the home ground of KKR. The stadium is owned by Cricket Association of Bengal. With a seating capacity of 90,000, it is the largest cricket stadium in India.

Management and Coaching Staff

OwnerShahrukh Khan (Red Chillies Ent.) 55% and Juhi Chawla and Jay Mehta ( Mehta Group) 45%
Head coachJacques Kaills
Assistant CoachSimon Katich
Bowling CoachHeath Streak
CEO & DirectorVenky Mysore
Data Analyst AR Srikanth
Physical TrainerAdrian Le Roux
PhysioAndrew Leipus

Seasons Summary

In 2008, they finished sixth out of eight at league stage.

IPL 2009, they ended eight out of eight at league stage.

In 2010, at league stage, the teams stand sixth out of eight.

Season 2011, the knight riders qualify for the playoff and lost to Mumbai Indians at Eliminator.

In 2012, their league standing was second out of nine. In final, they won against Chennai super kings and won the title for the first time.

Edition 2013, their league stage standing was seventh out of nine.

In 2014, the team stood second and won the final against Kings XI Punjab. They become champions for the second time.

IPL 2015, the teams has5th position and eliminated from the tournament.

In 2016, the Knight Riders lost to sunrises Hyderabad in the eliminator.

Season 2017, they won against Sunrisers Hyderabad and lost to Mumbai Indians in the Qualifier.

In 2018, the team has a 3rd position out of eight. They won against Royals and lost to Sun Risers Hyderabad in the qualifier.


BatsmenBowlersAll RounderWicketkeepers
Rinku SharmaPiyush ChawlaAndre RussellDinesh Karthik
Nitish  RanaKuldeep YadavSunil NarineRobin Uthappa
Chris LynnShivam MaviKamlesh Nagarkoti 
Shubham GillPrasidh Krishna  

Sourav Ganguly was the icon player and he led the team in 2008 & 2010.  Chris Gayle, David Hussey, Laxmi Ratan, Angelo Mathews, Ricky Ponting, and Wriddhiman Saha team comprised the team. Umar Gul, Ishant Sharma, Ashok Dinda, Ajit Agarkar, and Murali Karthik were the bowlers.

In IPL auction 2008, the franchise bought Brad Hodge, Ajantha Mendis, and Charl Langeveldt. In 2009 auction, they bought Mashrafe Mortaza. Kolkata Knight Riders suspended the contract of Omar gull due to his unavailability. The franchise released Ricky Ponting and acquired Shane Bond and traded Moises Henriques from Dehli daredevils for Owais Shah and Manoj Tiwary.

For 2011 season, the franchise included international names such as Shakib AL Hassan, Brad Haddin, Jacques Kallis, Brette Lee, Ryan ten Dosechate, Eoin Morgan and James Pattinson. In 2012 auction, KKr bought Brendon McCullum and Sunil Narine. The team released Jaydev Unakat, Sachithra Senanayake and Ryan McLaren.

In 2014, Knight Riders retained only Gautam Gambir and Sunil Narine. However, they included Robin Uthappa, Umesh Yadav, Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav Piyush Chawla, Morne Morkel, Patrick Cummins, and Chris Lynn.

The franchise acquired Brad Hogg and Sheldon Jackson in 2015 while in 2016 they acquired John Hasting, Colin Munro, Jason Holder, Rajagopal Sathish, Ankit Rajpoot Jaydev Unadkat and Spinner Manan Sharma.

In 2017 the Knight Riders signed Trent Boult, Chris Woakes, Nathan Coulter Nile, Darren Bravo, and Ravman Powell. Furthermore, they released Mitchell Johanson, Vinay Kumar, Cameron Delport, Javon Searles, Apoorv Wankhade, Ishank Jaggi and Tom Curran in 2018.

Related posts

Mumbai Indians: Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

By IPL Staff

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

By IPL Staff

RCB Team: Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

By IPL Staff

Leave a Comment