Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
today ipl match

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements



The (CSK) Chennai Super Kings is cricket team plays in the Indian Premier League. The team based in Chennai, Tamil Nadu and the home ground of the team is M.A. Chidambaram Stadium. Mahindra Singh Dhoni captained the team, and Stephen Fleming coached the team. BCCI sold Chennai Super Kings for $91 Million to India Cements for ten years. (CSK) Chennai Super Kings won three champion titles of the Indian Premier League. The team has the best percentage win rate among all the teams of IPL. The team also won the Championship League Twenty in 2010 and 2014. In 2018, the brand value of the team was $65 Million.

Team’s Home Ground

Home ground of the Super Kings is M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Tamil Nadu Cricket Association owned the stadium. Some matches of ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 played in this stadium.  In season 2011, the super kings won the final against the Royal Challengers Bangalore at this venue. Maharashtra Cricket Stadium in Pune is the second home ground of the team.

Performance History

2008 to 2010

In 2008, the team Selected MS Dhoni captain and appointed Kepler Wessels, the head coach. The team finished league stage with eight wins from fourteen matches. In the semifinal, the Super Kings defeated Kings XI Punjab by nine wickets. In the final, they faced Royals at Mumbai. IP final cancelled due to Mumbai Attacks. Both teams received $5 Million as compensation.

In 2009, (CSK) Chennai Super Kings ended up with seventeen points on the table from fourteen matches. However, Royal Challengers crushed their hopes for final and beat super kings by six wickets. Also, Matthew Hayden won the Orange Cup and adjudged player of the tournament.

In 2010, The Super Kings won only two matches out of seven. In the next five games, they managed to win four matches. Three teams finished with fourteen points, and super kings had the best run rate among them. Thus, the team qualified for the semifinal and faced Deccan Chargers. The super kings won the final and secured the championship title for the first time.

2011 to 2014

In 2011, CSK finished second and registered a spot in the knockout stage. They won against Royal Challengers in the semifinal by six wickets. In final, they faced the same opponent and won second IPL title.

IPL 2012, the team qualified for the playoffs with better run rate than Royal Challengers. They comprehensively beat Mumbai Indians and Delhi Daredevils. In final, Kolkata Knight Riders defeated Super Kings and denied their hat-trick in of titles.

In 2013, The team won 11 matches out of sixteen and got the first position on the table. They qualify for playoffs and beat Mumbai Indians in Qualifier. For the fourth time, the super kings entered the final and likewise qualifier face Mumbai Indian. Mumbai Indian defeated the super kings and won the title for the first time.

In 2014, they won league fixture and finished third in the table. Super Kings qualified for eliminator and faced Mumbai Indians. They won by seven wickets and qualified for the Qualifier. Kings XI Punjab crushed the super kings out of the IPL. In Final 2015, they lost against Mumbai Indians.

Management and Support Staff

OwnerIndia Cements
Head coachStephen Fleming
Batting CoachMichael Hussey
Bowling CoachLakshimpathy Balaji
Bowling ConsultantEric Simons
Fielding CoachRajiv Kumar
Physical TrainerGregory King
PhysioTommy Simsek
Team DoctorDr Madhu
Logistics ManagersSanjay Natarajan
Team ManagerRussell Radhakrishnan
Performance AnalystLakshmi Narayanan

Achievements and awards

Indian Premier League 2008

  • Runner-up
  • Fair play Award
  • Highest total score (240/5)

Indian Premier League 2009

  • Sami finalist
  • Orange cup

Indian Premier League 2010

  • Champions
  • Fair Play Award
  • Highest overall score (246/5)

Indian Premier League 2011

  • Champions
  • Fair Play award
  • Won all home Matches

Indian Premier League 2012

  • Runner-up
  • Highest overall score (222/5)
  • 1st player to score 2000 runs (Suresh Raina)

Indian Premier League 2013

  • Runner-up
  • 1st team to register 50 wins
  • Fair Play Award
  • Orange Cup
  • Purple cup

Indian Premier League 2014

  • Semifinalist
  • Fair play award
  • 1st team to play 100 games
  • Purple cup

Indian Premier League 2015

  • Runner-up
  • Fair play award
  • Purple cup
  • Best catch of season (Dwayne Bravo)

Indian Premier League 2018

  • Champions
  • Player of final (Shane Watson)
  • Star Plus Nayi Soch of the Season

CSK Squad

BatsmenBowlersAll RounderWicketkeepers
Suresh RainaLungi NgidiRavinda JadejeMS Dhoni
Ambati RayuduMonu KumarChaitanya BishoniNarayan Jagadeesan
Faf du PlessisKM AsifShane WatsonSam Billings
Dhruv ShoreyHarbhajan SinghKarn Sharma
Kedar JadhavShardul ThakurDwayne Bravo
Murali VijayMitchell SanterDavid Willey
Deepak Chahar
Imran Tahir

Suspended for two years

The Supreme Court suspended the owner of CSK for two years in July 2015, from Indian Premier League. They are found guilty for illegal betting and match-fixing probe. A CSK management person was involved in match-fixing, and later, the team was banned. On February 2016, the Court agreed to hear a plea for lifting the ban on the team.


2008: Runner-up

2009: Playoffs (2nd/8)

2010: Champions

2011: Champions

2012: Runner-up

2013: Runner-up

2014: Playoffs (3rd/8)

2015: Runner-up

2016: Suspended

2017: Suspended

2018: Champions

Related posts

KXIP: Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

By IPL Staff

Mumbai Indians: Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

By IPL Staff

RCB Team: Owner, Squad & Staff, History and Achievements

By IPL Staff

Leave a Comment